The Gartenreich

In 2000, the Garden Kingdom of Dessau-Wörlitz was declared an UNESCO World Heritage site. The UNESCO World Heritage Committee justified its inscription as follows: »The Garden Kingdom of Dessau-Wörlitz is an outstanding example of the application of the philosophical principles of the Age of the Enlightenment to the design of a landscape that integrates art, education and economy in a harmonious whole.«

UNESCO stands for United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization.

The organisation

UNESCO has 192 member states (as at March 2007). It is a specialist agency of the United Nations with its headquarters in Paris.
»Since wars begin in the minds of men, it is in the minds of men that the defences of peace must be constructed « – this is UNESCO’s guiding principle. It is embedded in the Preamble of its Constitution which was ratified by 37 states on 16 November 1945 in London.

Preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world

In 1972 UNESCO adopted an international treaty called the »Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage«. It is the most important instrument internationally that has ever been ratified by the community of nations for the protection of their cultural and natural heritage. UNESCO seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world considered to be »of outstanding value to humanity«. The UNESCO World Heritage List currently (as at 13 September 2007) includes 851 sites worldwide.

Sites will only be included in the World Heritage List if the Convention’s criteria of »uniqueness« and »authenticity« for cultural sites and »integrity« for natural sites are fulfilled and there is a convincing plan for their conservation.

Alle Rechte vorbehalten • Kulturstiftung Dessau-Wörlitz